CensorWare for Australia?
Plus Who decides what stays & goes? Is this all yet another move to make the Internet more like TV?
Year's Best SF 11 Table of Contents

Hugo Nominations: Yes, we are nominees!

The Hugo Awards ballot is out, and David and I are both nominated. We're nominted jointly (along with Kevin Maroney) in the Best Semi-Prozine Category for The New York Review of Science Fiction, and David is nominated in the Best editor catgory. Here's the ballot:

Best Novel (430 ballots cast)
Learning the World
, Ken MacLeod (Orbit; Tor)
A Feast for Crows, George R.R. Martin (Voyager; Bantam Spectra)

Old Man's War, John Scalzi (Tor)
Accelerando, Charles Stross (Ace; Orbit)
Spin, Robert Charles Wilson (Tor)

Best Novella (243 ballots cast)
James Patrick Kelly (Tachyon)

"Magic for Beginners", Kelly Link (Magic for Beginners, Small Beer Press; F&SF September 2005)

"The Little Goddess", Ian McDonald (Asimov's June 2005)

"Identity Theft", Robert J. Sawyer (Down These Dark Spaceways, SFBC)

"Inside Job", Connie Willis (Asimov's January 2005)


Best Novelette (207 ballots cast)
"The Calorie Man", Paolo Bacigalupi (F&SF October/November 2005)

"Two Hearts", Peter S. Beagle (F&SF October/November 2005)

"TelePresence", Michael A. Burstein (Analog July/August 2005)

"I, Robot", Cory Doctorow (The Infinite Matrix February 15, 2005)

"The King of Where-I-Go", Howard Waldrop (SCI FICTION December 7, 2005)


Best Short Story (278 ballots cast)
"Seventy-Five Years", Michael A. Burstein (Analog January/February 2005)
"The Clockwork Atom Bomb", Dominic Green (Interzone May/June 2005)
"Singing My Sister Down", Margo Lanagan (Black Juice, Allen & Unwin; Eos)
"Tk'tk'tk", David D. Levine (Asimov's March 2005)
"Down Memory Lane", Mike Resnick (Asimov's April/May 2005)

Best Related Book
(197 ballots cast)

Transformations: The Story of the Science Fiction Magazines from 1950 to 1970
, Mike Ashley (Liverpool)

The SEX Column and Other Misprints, David Langford (Cosmos)
Science Fiction Quotations, edited, Gary Westfahl (Yale)
Storyteller: Writing Lessons and More from 27 Years of the Clarion Writers' Workshop, Kate Wilhelm (Small Beer Press)
Soundings: Reviews 1992-1996, Gary K. Wolfe (Beccon)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form (364 ballots cast)
Batman Begins Story, David S. Goyer.  Screenplay, Christopher Nolan and David S. Goyer.  Based on the character created, Bob Kane. Directed, Christopher Nolan.  (Warner Bros.)
The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe Screenplay, Ann Peacock and Andrew Adamson  and Christopher Markus & Stephen McFeely.  Based on the novel, C.S. Lewis.  Directed, Andrew Adamson. (Walt Disney Pictures/Walden Media)
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire Screenplay, Steven Kloves.  Based on the novel, J.K. Rowling.  Directed, Mike Newell.  (Warner Bros.)
Serenity Written & Directed, Joss Whedon.  (Universal Pictures/Mutant Enemy, Inc.)
Wallace & Gromit in the Curse of the Were-Rabbit Screenplay, Steve Box & Nick Park and Bob Baker and Mark Burton. Directed, Nick Park & Steve Box.  (Dreamworks Animation/Aardman Animation).

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form (261 ballots cast)
Battlestar Galactica "Pegasus"  Written, Anne Cofell Saunders. Directed, Michael Rymer. (NBC Universal/British Sky Broadcasting)

Doctor Who "Dalek"  Written, Robert Shearman. Directed, Joe Ahearne.  (BBC Wales/BBC1)
Doctor Who "The Empty Child" & "The Doctor Dances"  Written, Steven Moffat. Directed, James Hawes. (BBC Wales/BBC1)
Doctor Who "Father's Day"  Written, Paul Cornell. Directed, Joe Ahearne. (BBC Wales/BBC1)
Jack-Jack Attack  Written & Directed, Brad Bird.  (Walt Disney Pictures/Pixar Animation)
Lucas Back in Anger  Written, Phil Raines and Ian Sorensen. Directed, Phil Raines.  (Reductio Ad Absurdum Productions)
Prix Victor Hugo Awards Ceremony (Opening Speech and Framing Sequences).  Written and performed, Paul McAuley and Kim Newman. Directed, Mike & Debby Moir.  (Interaction Events)
(There are seven nominees due to a tie for fifth place)

Best Professional Editor (293 ballots cast)
Ellen Datlow (SCI FICTION and anthologies)
David G. Hartwell (Tor Books; Year's Best SF)
Stanley Schmidt (Analog)
Gordon Van Gelder (F&SF)
Sheila Williams (Asimov's)

Best Professional Artist (230 ballots cast)
Jim Burns

Bob Eggleton
Donato Giancola
Stephan Martiniere
John Picacio
Michael Whelan
(There are six nominees due to a tie for fifth place)

 Best Semiprozine (219 ballots cast)
Ansible, ed. Dave Langford
Emerald City, ed. Cheryl Morgan
Interzone , ed. Andy Cox
Locus, ed. Charles N. Brown, Kirsten Gong-Wong, & Liza Groen Trombi
The New York Review of Science Fiction, ed. Kathryn Cramer, David G. Hartwell & Kevin J. Maroney

Best Fanzine (176 ballots cast)
Banana Wings
, ed. Claire Brialey & Mark Plummer

Challenger, ed. Guy H. Lillian III
Chunga, ed. Andy Hooper, Randy Byers & carl juarez
File 770, ed. Mike Glyer
Plokta, ed. Alison Scott, Steve Davies & Mike Scott

Best Fan Writer (202 ballots cast)
Claire Brialey
John Hertz
Dave Langford
Cheryl Morgan
Steven H Silver

Best Fan Artist (154 ballots cast)
Brad Foster
Teddy Harvia
Sue Mason
Steve Stiles
Frank Wu

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer of 2004 or 2005 [Not a Hugo – Sponsored, Dell Magazines] (186 ballots cast)
K.J. Bishop (2nd year of eligibility)
Sarah Monette (2nd year of eligibility)
Chris Roberson (2nd year of eligibility)
Brandon Sanderson (1st year of eligibility)
John Scalzi (1st year of eligibility)
Steph Swainston (2nd year of eligibility)
(There are six nominees due to a tie for fifth place)

Here are Locus's comments on our two categories. Best Editor:

Sheila Williams is a first-time nominee in the Best Editor category; she took over editorship last year of Asimov's SF Magazine from Gardner Dozois, who for the first time since 1987 has not been nominated in this category (Dozois won 15 times out of 19 consecutive nominations from 1987 to 2005). Ellen Datlow has 12 previous nominations in this category, and has won twice, in 2002 and 2005. None of the other nominees has ever won a Hugo. David G. Hartwell has 14 previous nominations in this category, and 31 nominations overall, holding the record for most nominations by anyone who has not won a Hugo. Stanley Schmidt has 27 previous nominations, including every year in this category since 1980. Gordon Van Gelder has 14 previous nominations, including every year in this category since 1998.

. . .and Semiprozine:

All the Best Semiprozine nominees are veterans; the newest, Emerald City, has 4 previous nominations, and won in 2004 in the Fanzine category. Ansible has been nominated 14 times previously, and has won 5 times in the Fanzine category, and once, last year, in the Semiprozine category. Locus has been nominated in the amateur magazine, fanzine, or semiprozine categories every year since 1970 with just one exception (1979), and has won 26 times. The New York Review of Science Fiction has been nominated 17 times in this category, every year consecutively since 1989, though it has never won.